Watching the world and not playing football.

I’ve spent the day writing, so essentially that’s a day spent in introversion. I then arrived at the Cathedral (not sure how this happened) forty minutes early for the family service which I usually attend; I spent the time sitting on the bench outside the Cathedral, under a small spreading tree, watching the world.

Then I had a conversation with someone I will call Anonymous. The conversation went as follows:

A: Hello, Naomi.
Me: Hello.
A: Are you ok?
Me: Yes, I’m fine, thanks. You?
A: Well, it’s just that you’re – what are you doing?
Me: (resisting the urge to answer with something facetious, like “playing football”) I’m watching the grass.
A: …Not much to see then, haha…(trailing off weakly and possibly wondering how to get out of this conversation).
Me: On the contrary – there’s heaps to see.
A: …
Me: That blade of grass, for instance – it’s blowing in the breeze but the one just next to it isn’t. And there is an ant, and over there was a ladybug, but it’s gone now. And there’s at least four different types of grass just here in front of me, and about a thousand different shades of green, and the greens are all changing as the light moves towards dusk…
A: …
Me: …
A: Oh, well that’s lovely, then. Um – as long as you’re ok.
Me: Yes, thanks.
A: …Um, well, I’ll leave you to it then, shall I?
Me: Ok, see you.

It’s only in hindsight that I realise that the above conversation was probably extremely strange to someone who isn’t used to spending a fairly significant amount of time captivated by the minutiae of the world around them…perhaps I’m stranger than I think…

2 thoughts on “Watching the world and not playing football.

Leave a Reply

