Something’s gotta give…

…and, this week, the thing that’s got to give is this blog.

It’s busy: Holy Week, singing, eating, sleeping, and the demands of work, which I have to do so I get paid so I can do all the other things. And there’s only so many hours in the day, and so many brain cells in my head, and part of this whole year-of-care thing (I haven’t forgotten that) is knowing my limitations and respecting them. Knowing when to say no. Knowing when to care for myself, to sit on the lounge and watch Firefly (I love, love Jos Whedon) and have an early night.

Because in order to be present – truly present – to the life-and-death mysteries we’re about to celebrate this week, there have to be times when I’m not present to my responsibilities. When I sit on the lounge and watch Firefly, and have an early night.

Because there’s miles to go before I sleep, and in order to get there I need to be taking care of myself. And not feel guilty. And watch Firefly, and have an early night.

4 thoughts on “Something’s gotta give…

  1. “Firefly” is a wonderful television series (the second series of which the producer made into a movie) by Jos Whedon. Intelligent and funny, there is action and complex plot development and multi-dimensional characters…also space ships. Highly recommended!

Leave a Reply

