Running out of words, God, and the necessity of turning off the computer.

It’s been a full weekend, demanding and incessant. Good – lots of wonderful choir events – but I’m tired. In the last two days, not counting my morning getting-ready time, I’ve had maybe forty minutes on my own, in my own company, in silence. I crave sleep, and quiet, and space, and above all peace.

I have run out of words. I have well and truly used up my allotted quota of words for the weekend. So, once more, I will rely on someone else’s words:

God does not create in order to acquire something, but in order to give something…only to share Himself.  – John Powell (Jesuit psychologist).

God shares Itself through creation. Sit with that for a minute. God shares Itself through creation. The gale-force wind which seems to have spent the afternoon blowing sticky black dust throughout my flat: God sharing Itself. The music I sang today, and the friends I sang it with: God. The moth which will not stop beating itself against the side of my head: God.

The electrical storm that’s just started, right over my head: God.

But I also think I’d better turn the computer off…

2 thoughts on “Running out of words, God, and the necessity of turning off the computer.

Leave a Reply

