Post-migraine blagh and Mary Oliver.

It is so much harder to write coherently or intelligently when I am sick – I’m coming back from the tail end of one of the worst migraines I’ve ever had, which saw me faint at work. That’s one way of getting out of a tedious meeting!

The upshot, however, is that I’m in the post-migraine-blagh – no intellect, no energy, and certainly no capacity for wisdom. So, just because it’s a beautiful poem, I’m going to rely on the wisdom and beauty that is Mary Oliver’s writing, in the hopes that tomorrow I might come up with something worthwhile on my own.

Here it is:

Freshen the flowers, she said.
So I put them in the sink, for the cool porcelain was tender,
and took out the tattered and cut each stem on a slant,
trimmed the black and raggy leaves, and set them all –
roses, delphiniums, daisies, iris, lilies,
and more whose names I do’t know, in bright new water –
gave them
a bounce upward at the end to let them take
their own choice of position, the wheels, the spurs,
the little sheds of the buds. It took, to do this,
perhaps fifteen minutes.
Fifteen minutes of music
with noting playing.

~

Now breathe.

 

2 thoughts on “Post-migraine blagh and Mary Oliver.

  1. I really love your site.. Pleasant colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself?
    Please reply back as I’m hoping to create my own personal
    site and would love to know where you got this from or just what the theme is called.
    Cheers!

    • Hi, thanks for that feedback. 🙂 It’s just one of the themes available on WordPress, which is great because I certainly do not have the visual art skills to create something myself! I will leave another comment here when I remember what it’s called. Good luck with creating your site.

Leave a Reply

