Blessed party bustle and the balm of silence.

There have been a few glasses of wine consumed tonight at a choir party (I love partying with fellow music nerds) and despite dwelling tonight in the love of my wonderful, amazing, giving friends, I have come home to a silent flat with a sigh of relief. Silence is balm to my introvert spirit.

This is what Thomas Merton has to say about silence:

“Silence helps draw together the scattered and dissipated energies of a fragmented existence. It helps us to concentrate on a purpose that really corresponds not only to the deeper needs of our being but also to God’s intentions for us.”

I adore my friends. I would walk through fire for them and I’m grateful every day that such beautiful people have taken me into their love and care, and allowed me to love and care for them. But silence is to my spirit like water on parched earth, and right now I’m grateful for that too.

2 thoughts on “Blessed party bustle and the balm of silence.

Leave a Reply

