Tiredness and Talmud.

I’m far too tired to write anything intelligent tonight – I’ve pretty much mainlined caffeine all day and it hasn’t improved my intellect a jot. So I’ve decided that (desperate times calling for desperate measures) an early night is in order.

So I’ll leave you with a quote from the Talmud I just read in a letter from my wonderful mum:

“Beloved is man, for he was created in the image [of God]; still greater was the love in that it was made known to him that he was created in the love of God”. (Mishnah Pirqei Avot 3:15)

Whenever I think about it, it never ceases to amaze me the the Creator of the Universe, the Source of Being, the Ground of Love, the God of vulnerability and strength and light and darkness, actually gives a damn about me. Not only gives a damn, but loves, actively and passionately loves me. Loves me. And is humble and vulnerable enough to allow me to further God’s own love in the world, even when I screw it up.

And I’m tired enough that the most profound thing I can think of to write about that is: wow. Bloody hell.

One thought on “Tiredness and Talmud.

Leave a Reply

