Caring threats.

I’m sitting at my desk, listening to Gershwin (mostly because I haven’t gotten around to switching the radio to a CD), and sending text messages back and forth with a friend who is currently in hospital. She’s a wonderful friend – the type to message me one day out of major surgery to see if I’m alright (sit with this for a minute – one day out of surgery she wants to know how I’m going). And she’s someone I can be quite open with. I can tell her what’s going on for me, what frightens me, how I’m feeling. She cares without being overbearing and with her whole being she listens.

And then, almost inevitably, the conversation degenerates into random weirdness and threatening each other with rotting fruit.

I have awesome friends.

Leave a Reply

