On the eighth basic principle of creative spirituality

We’re getting to the pointy end…Number eight is…:

As we open our creative channel to the Creator, many gentle but powerful changes are to be expected.

Opening ourselves to our creativity means opening ourselves to the Creator, which means being truly, frighteningly honest about who we really are, and being willing to be seared by the profound compassion of the Source of love. How can there not be powerful changes?

If I am willing to live as I truly am, to be the person I truly am, then I have to be willing to stand up and put myself into the world. Not hide behind my wallflower status, or pretend I have no intellect or nothing to say. Being who I am, putting myself into the world, doesn’t mean I become opinionated, or develop an inflated view of how wonderful I am. It doesn’t mean I stop listening to people because my own self is more important. What it does mean is that I stand up in being honest about my beauties and failings, and that I’m willing to make a mistake. Wiling to be less than perfect – willing to be actually real. Darkness and all.

It also means that I’m not going to be able to stay silent about things, either. Whether it’s things that have happened to me, or things that are happening to others, I’m not going to be neutral about it any more. One in five women in this country experience some form of sexual assault. Women are twenty times more likely to be subjected to domestic violence. Traumatised, terrified refugees are shunted into detention camps behind  razor wire. Tonight an unknown number of people will sleep rough, in the cold. Even more don’t know where their next meal is coming from. And that’s just in Australia – “the lucky country”.

A quote from Samuel Rayan: A candle-light is a protest at midnight. It is a non-conformist.. It says to the darkness, “I beg to differ”.

Alrighty, darkness. The more people who open themselves up to the Creator within them, the more screwed you are. Bring it on.

Leave a Reply

